Western Digital Reviews

Show reviews that mention
drive hard drive service customer customer service warranty support drives data computer
Filter review
Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Junior Reviewer

WD did not send brand new drive and have been dealing with them 8 weeks!

Western Digital - WD did not send brand new drive and have been dealing with them 8 weeks!
Update by user Jul 10, 2020

I received no response to my message regarding the "RMA Received Confirmation" email on 06/20/20 via my Support Incident (# 200529-****57). Several days later, on 06/24/20, support was informed of this complaint/review and asked to respond as soon as possible.I finally received a response on 06/28/20, which stated, "We are gad to inform you that your new Replacement has been processed and the Prime Drive will be shipped to you with in 1-2 working days.", and with regards to this complaint/review, further stated, "The case has already been forwarded to our escalation team for further review on your complaint, please allow us sometime to look into this matter and our team will get back to you.".This was very upsetting and I replied as such on 07/01/20, pointing out this has been drawn out over two months now, therefore that is unacceptable and my complaint needs addressed immediately.

That, as of 06/30, I received a Confirmation email for RMA # 8829**** for the new replacement I requested numerous times the past month. This was created despite being more than well aware of this complaint/review and what I stated within (SEE BELOW). I further pointed out, as of that day, 07/01, the RMA indicates a drive with Serial # WX32A206R83H has been shipped. However, upon registering the above Serial # it too only has a 4-month warranty whereas all new drives have a 3-year warranty, and I asked what the reason is for this discrepancy.

Additionally, the RMA has a status of "Shipped", which I once again received no notification of, and the provided UPS Tracking Number was not valid according to the UPS website.For clarification, support was originally informed of this complaint/review on 06/17/20 and the included "Preferred Solution" in which I requested the brand new hard drive I was promised, shipped priority mail with the serial number provided in advance. Additionally, I asked that WD gift the replacement drive I was previously sent as compensation. All of which was willfully ignored by WD Support, who created RMA # 8829**** on 06/30/20 without saying a word. Instead I received nothing more than a RMA Confirmation email stating, "Important Note...

The $25 Advance RMA Service Fee is a non-refundable charge that is separate from the amount that is withheld from your credit card. If WD does not receive your product(s) within 30 days from the date the replacement product was shipped, your card on file will be charged $. If we are unable to charge your card, we will restrict your account from future Advance Replacement requests and void the warranty on your replacement product.". This is not the first Advance RMA I have been told I would receive, but is the first to include the above "Important Note".

I find this very irksome as it essentially is an ultimatum to either return the replacement previously received, which I requested WD gift two weeks prior, or the warranty on the new replacement will be voided.That aside, a new replacement delivered on 07/02/20. However, both the drive and its packing looked different than the original I purchased, and the first replacement. Subsequently, the following day I received a reply from support to my previous message stating, "all replaced drives comes with default 4 months of warranty and remaining warranty will be updated once you receive the replacement. I have also checked the status of UPS tracking which shows delivered now.

Please confirm so that I can update the warranty on your account.". I responded that day, 07/03/20, stating I had received the replacement and asked why the drive and packing looked different. As well as I also asked how to get in touch with someone to address this complaint.As of today, 07/10/20, I have received no response from support, nor has the warranty been updated to reflect the three years I was told would be carried over and extended by 90-days. In the meantime, I had purchased the WD 2TB My Passport to replace my 500GB drive, which is ten years old and all I have had to rely on since mid-April.

As a result I have been unable to backup my laptop since this long, drawn-out ordeal started in April.Being without my drive is no longer feasible or remotely acceptable. As such, today I attempted to use the new replacement received 07/02/20 but it is completely useless.

The drive is repeatedly disconnecting itself, and in a span of one hour I received over twenty desktop notifications stating, "Disk not ejected properly".This is precisely what had occurred with my original drive after barely two months, which support had said was, "due to the bad USB cable or bad drive", and resulted in it being replaced. Now, I have the same issue with the replacement I waited months to receive!

Original review posted by user Jun 24, 2020
I purchased a Western Digital (WD) 2TB My Passport Portable External Hard Drive and a 3-Year Rescue Data Recovery Services plan via Amazon on 02/12/20 for a total of $76.95. The day after I received the drive, on 02/16/20, I registered and reformatted it to use with my MacBook Pro. Unfortunately, the drive barely lasted two months before I began having issues with it disconnecting itself from my Mac. On 04/30/20 WD support was contacted the first time, but they passed the buck and told me to contact Apple. They were contacted multiple times that day and numerous times since then. On 05/01/20 support said the issue might be due to a bad USB cable or bad drive, and a replacement offered. I was then informed on 05/04/20 that the replacement would be refurbished. In the meantime, the issue worsened causing me to lose access to an entire volume on the drive which required reformatting and resulted in a loss of data. Then on 05/12/20 support said they would provide 3 months extension on the warranty. Finally, on 05/13/20 I created an RMA (Return Merchandise Authorization) for a replacement, which I called support about but they were again a waste of time. After throwing a fit about the whole ordeal I was contacted by a manager at WD Tech Support on 05/14/20 who said they will process the replacement with extended warranty of 3 months and provide a prepaid shipping label to return the defective drive. In addition, I was asked to provide proof of purchase so they could process the replacement with "Prime (Brand New Drive)", which I immediately provided. After a couple days I heard nothing back and contacted them again. They responded on 05/19/20 saying they would be processing my RMA with a brand new WD My Passport with 90 days extension on the warranty and a Prepaid UPS Shipping label would be sent within one business day. But I basically had to harass them to set this in motion rather than just "discussing" it and even still it took more than two weeks! Finally I received the replacement, which I did not get around to or register until 05/29/20. When I registered the serial number the replacement came back as a "Legacy Product", which instantly I knew I had received a refurbished drive and immediately contacted support. On 06/01/20 the same manager as before responded that the replacement was not a legacy product. Meanwhile, my original drive was received by WD on this same day. Then the manager responded on 06/05/20 directing my attention to an attached image saying it shows the drive was not refurbished or a legacy product, and requested I share the screenshot of the page where I am seeing the drive as a legacy product so they can investigate. In spite of their best efforts, it proved nothing as far as I was concerned, but it did clearly show the drive had only a 90 day warranty which they were aware of. Furthermore, I had attached copies of emails and screenshots when I created this support incident a week prior that provided all the information they needed and chose to ignore. He then responded on 06/12/20 saying the replacement I received was "incorrectly mapped as legacy products", which they have "fixed", and I could check by creating a new account with a new email address and registering the drive again. Essentially, they simply edited the information associated with the serial number in their system. I do not know if I was more shocked by this or disgusted. Until I returned a missed call from them on 06/16/20 regarding a new replacement I requested multiple times, and spoke with someone else who let it slip that I was in fact sent a refurbished drive. After throwing another fit I was asked to provide information for support to create a new RMA (drive serial number, shipping address, etc), which I asked for confirmation multiple times that a brand new drive would in fact be sent and was again told it would be a brand new drive. Then I asked about a return shipping label, but was told I am responsible for one-day shipping to return the drive and I said absolutely not. Support promised I would be sent a brand new drive, but sent a refurbished drive instead and flat out lied about it the last two weeks. He started to explain their "policy", but I pointed out I was sent a prepaid label before, and of course was told that was a "one time exception". In the end I told him to forget about and hung-up the phone. Several hours later I received a RMA confirmation email which had the incorrect serial number! Despite the fact that support is more than well aware of the serial number, the RMA was for the original drive I purchased, and that WD had in their possession for over two weeks!! So I called support explaining the issue, and the gentleman literally told me he did not see a problem. After explaining this no less than a half dozen times and having to resort to yelling he finally "got it". At that point I expected a new RMA to be created, but I was basically told the information would be passed along, and I would receive an email with all the information as well as a prepaid shipping label. I of course received no information or label, and the following day, on 06/17/20, decided to write a complaint here because I am beyond fed-up with WD's so-called "support". They were informed of this complaint, which several hours later I went back to add files to, and only then discovered there is a limit to how many files can be included. Unable to remove the files I had already added, I was forced to request that my complaint be deleted so I could combine multiple files into a single file and resubmit my complaint with this in mind. They were informed of this as well but I did not receive any response or acknowledgement. Then on 06/20/20 I received a RMA Received Confirmation email stating they received and processed the RMA product three days prior, and I will be notified by email once a replacement is ready for delivery. So I contacted support the same day to find out if I am being sent a new replacement or if someone simply changed information in their system again resulting in this email since the product in reference was the original drive WD received on 06/01/20. Again, I did not receive any response or acknowledgement.

User's recommendation: I would recommend a Dollar Store brand hard drive before ever recommending WD!

View full review
ID
#2009712 Review #2009712 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Western Digital Customer Care
Pros
  • Having an external hard drive backup for a few months
Cons
  • Purposely try to deceive customers
  • Provide no help or troubleshooting
  • Misleading packaging
Loss
$77
Preferred solution
I want the brand new hard drive I was promised, shipped priority mail with the serial number provided in advance to confirm. Additionally, I want WD to gift the replacement drive I was previously sent as compensation for the unnecessary hassles and lying.

Hardisk default

I have submitted the hard disc 6 days ago till i have not receive new one they have told me that i will receive it in 7 working days till not showing in status

User's recommendation: Disappointed by buying your product not even proper service center in my city i have to travel 5 hour to reach the service center.

View full review
ID
#3224891 Review #3224891 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Mumbai, Maharashtra
New Reviewer

Hard disk not working

I have my passport ultra 2 tb hard disk When in connect it to my laptop. It's drives are not showing on my laptop What should i do? Help me please !
View full review
ID
#3196243 Review #3196243 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New Delhi, National Capital Territory Of Delhi
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

External storage hard drive not working

About Password recovery of my WD Passport Hard drive...I didn't get any formal support from WD Side...
View full review
ID
#3156177 Review #3156177 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Nagpur, Maharashtra
Loss
$29
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Warranty

I sent my wd hdd for warranty on 25-10-2021 and didnt get it back Ram number is 006505**** Job ID FLWD 211025****46
View full review
ID
#3116372 Review #3116372 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ernakulam, Kerala
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Update by user Nov 30, 2021

Update: After a day of beating on all channels... again nothing from WD.So I tried a long shot, reached out to Amazon. The return period had expired 8 months ago, but I wondered if they had an inside channel to WD.Long story short: "You're a good customer, we'll send a...

View full review
View full review
ID
#3099481 Review #3099481 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Defective and incompetent
Loss
$1800
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Data recover

Data show ni ho ra Disc ek bar bhi nichey nai giri Kahi pr bhi damage nai hua Bs ek folder nai chahiye plss bta do kaisey sahi hoga
View full review
ID
#3093389 Review #3093389 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Delhi, National Capital Territory Of Delhi

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Support on brand new My Passport drive

Just bought a WD 2TB hard drive and I can not get it work. WB wants me to fix a brand new product to work, ridiculous, You cannot get to talk to a human.

User's recommendation: Stay away.

View full review
ID
#3088284 Review #3088284 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Orange Park, Florida
Cons
  • No support for brand new products
Preferred solution
Get the hard drive to accept data

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Discount coupon scam

Western Digital - Discount coupon scam
I got their senior discount code and applied it without a hitch, then the payment portal failed and when I tried again, it said the code had already been used - which it had... almost. By me.

User's recommendation: Don't bother.

View full review
ID
#3035572 Review #3035572 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Failure to comply with their own discount scheme
Preferred solution
Price reduction
New Reviewer

WD Purple Faulty

I am not able to contact support My WD Purple is not working for long. Second time I m disappointed with WD my last experience was also not good.
View full review
ID
#2999637 Review #2999637 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Waiting

I have been waiting since August 1st to receive a package from Western Digital, they said they just received the return package on the 10th of October, so I'm still waiting on my return, that's why I'm still pissed. But hopefully it'll be over soon.

User's recommendation: Just know whatever you do is going to take awhile.

View full review
ID
#2988509 Review #2988509 is a subjective opinion of poster.
I bought a Western Digital drive. I barely used it. Two months later it stopped working. That was OK, it happens. I went to their website and got an RMA. I sent the drive back. They informed me that they received the drive on September 22nd. I've been waiting until...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2954454 Review #2954454 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Francisco, California
New Reviewer

Costumer service very poor

Not proper support, Very slow process costumer care services ....................................... ,
View full review
ID
#2938238 Review #2938238 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Dont Buy Western Digital products!!

Dont Buy Western Digital products!!! I have a MyCloud Home defected and return twice and returned has reused! And had to pay to return it!! The second Time i lost all my data on WD Products because they dont recover data! DONT BUY!!!

User's recommendation: Dont Buy Western Digital products!!

View full review
ID
#2935344 Review #2935344 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Device returned for warranty replacement. Can’t get device sent to me

Bought Mypassport for Mac April 2021. Sent for warranty service July 27. Its September 9 and was told today that (After 13 emails and one phone call) that please be informed that we are not shipping any drives as of now. All the shipments are on hold until further notice. You will receive a notification email as soon as the drive is shipped.

User's recommendation: Buyer beware.

View full review
ID
#2855709 Review #2855709 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Inexcusable return policy
  • Failed product
  • Customer service lies
Loss
$109
Preferred solution
Full refund

Customer Care

HORRIBLE customer service on WD products. Never will I purchase or recommend WD products. I purchased a WD My Book Live and now will not connect to my computer. Was told theres a security issue and theres nothing they can do. This is nice to know, right. There customer service #, if you understand it, please let me know.

User's recommendation: Run do not walk from WD products.

View full review
ID
#2855072 Review #2855072 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article